The Paris Library

The Paris Library Review

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, Odile stands to lose everything she holds dear, including her beloved library. Together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. But when the war finally ends, instead of freedom, Odile tastes the bitter sting of unspeakable betrayal.

Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

A powerful novel that explores the consequences of our choices and the relationships that make us who we are—family, friends, and favorite authors—The Paris Library shows that extraordinary heroism can sometimes be found in the quietest of places.

Title:The Paris Library
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    The Paris Library Reviews

  • MarilynW

    The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien CharlesThis was such an enjoyable story and led me to research more about the American Library in Paris. The story starts in 1939 Paris, as we follow twenty year ol...

  • Dorie  - Cats&Books :)

    ***HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY***Historical fiction is my favorite genre. I search out novels that are set about, in or around books, libraries, book stores etc. The novel is set during dual timelines, one...

  • Angela M

    I thought this would be a relevant one to read during Banned Book Week, and it was, but it’s about more than banned books. It’s about people affected by the Nazi occupation of France, how the Libr...

  • Miranda Reads

    100 days into 2021 and 100 books have been read. Check out my latest BookTube Video to see which ones are my fave! The Written Review I loved Paris, a city with secrets. Like book cove...

  • Swaroop

    "based on a true Second World War story of the heroic librarians..." Set in two different time periods, The Paris Library is a well-written and engaging read. The book follows the experiences of Odile...

  • Paromjit

    Janet Skeslien Charles writes an intriguing blend of well researched fact and fiction focusing on the experience of the established American Library in Paris amidst the background of the Nazi occupati...

  • Christine

    Though I am starting to back off on historical novels set during WWII, I picked this book as it appeared to offer something different. The story has dual timelines with our protagonist, Odile, heavily...

  • Thomas

    4.5 shining stars rounded down for a story of love, betrayal, sadness, courage and coming of age, all wrapped up in one book. This book is based on actual events in Paris during WWII. The American Lib...

  • Elyse  Walters

    Audiobook...library overdrive..alternated with the physical book... (I own it)I’ve been sitting here debating whether or not to write a review at all. I suppose I’ll start with a personal share.I...

  • Marialyce (absltmom, yaya)

    I have been disappointed in the historical fiction genre for a time, But this book has ended that disappointment. It was superb in every sense and one in which the author was able to blend fact and fi...