Almost American Girl

Almost American Girl Review

A powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo—about a Korean-born, non-English-speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her passion for comic arts.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up in the 1990s as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married—Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends at home and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily. And worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother.

Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

Title:Almost American Girl
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    Almost American Girl Reviews

  • Tatiana

    A pretty decent YA memoir mostly about immigrant experience. It is compared to American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo, but Almost American Girl doesn't quite have the depth and creativity of those works...

  • Layla (Between the Lines)

    Thank you to HCC Frenzy for sending me an ARC of Almost American Girl.I rarely find myself relating to anything these days but this memoir really struck a chord in me. Robin paints a beautiful story, ...

  • Elizabeth A

    The author was raised in Seoul, Korea and is suddenly transplanted to Huntsville, Alabama when she's about 14 years old. This graphic memoir explores the author's relationship with her mother, the mov...

  • Melanie  Brinkman

    Why is it so easy to feel out of place in the places we are supposed to call home?In 1990s Korea, being raised by a single mother means Robin's family doesn't fit the conventional mold. But as long as...

  • Maia

    This is a wonderful, beautifully drawn memoir. Robin is the daughter of a single mother who struggled against South Korea's conservative society to create a happy life for their small family. The summ...

  • Rod Brown

    I was drawn in by the story of a 14-year-old South Korean girl suddenly finding herself an immigrant living in Huntsville, Alabama, struggling with English, racism, and bullies. But by the end I was f...

  • Kelly

    What a fantastic graphic memoir, and I cannot wait to revisit this in full color as the sample pages for that were excellent (it'll really enhance the already solid art!).Growing up in Korea, Robin kn...

  • Nicholas Mihm

    Couldn't put this book down. Easily to relate to if you are in a situation in life that it uncomfortable. Robin Ha's story was inspiring and honest, and her illustrations took my breath away. It seeme...

  • Richie Partington

    Richies Picks: ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL: AN ILLUSTRATED MEMOIR by Robin Ha, Harper/Balzer + Bray, January 2020, 240p., ISBN: 978-0-06-268510-0Their fathers hell did slowly go by-- Graham Nash (1970)Or, in...

  • Piyali

    A fantastic memoir of Chuna who has to leave everything familiar in her homeland, Seoul and move to Alabama with her strong, determined mother who wants to give the best opportunity to her daughter. B...