The End or Something Like That

The End or Something Like That Review

Can a friendship last forever?

Emmy would like to think so. But even though she and her late best friend, Kim, planned every detail in advance, from when and where to meet to what snacks to bring, Kim has yet to make an appearance from the afterlife. Which is making Emmy wonder if what happened right before Kim died changed everything.

Alternating between the past and the present and between the heartbreaking and the truly hilarious, Ann Dee Ellis's latest novel is an achingly authentic take on friendship, family, and what it means to let go and truly live.

Title:The End or Something Like That
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    The End or Something Like That Reviews

  • Whitney Atkinson

    3.75 StarsThis book was definitely different! It's written in a very short, witty, and snappy style, and it reads extremely quickly since the page format is so shortened that it's almost like reading ...

  • Jennifer

    The End or Something Like That has been on my wishlist since I first saw it on Goodreads. It sounded like it would be very awesome. Sadly, it did not live up to any sort of awesomeness. It felt very f...

  • Aria

    The blurb for this book is:"For fans of Sara Zarr and Stephen Chbosky, an achingly raw and surprisingly funny novel about coping with loss."I can tell you now that that is a big, huge load of bull.Jus...

  • Ashley

    I’d say this was more 3.5 stars, but I rounded up because it was a decent, easy read. There wasn’t much to the story, and really no conflict or climax, but I felt that the book was still well-writ...

  • Amber M. McCarter

    This was both real and surreal. Sweet and disturbing. Nothing really changed or got better, though in some large and small invisible ways it did. I was left both hopeful and fearful for our main chara...

  • Chasia Lloyd

    This book made me cry. I don't remember the last time I cried over a book. I cry over pictures of Kermit the Frog and commercials around Christmas time, but books don't get to me easily. I pick up a b...

  • Alicia

    Ann Dee Ellis is a genius. I don't say this lightly. And if you flipped through her books, that descriptive word might not come to mind, as her prose is deceptively simple. But all of her books are sp...

  • Linda Lipko

    A good story that somehow became choppy long about mid-way. There was a great deal of frustration with disjointed sentences leading to no where.Two girls who have been together since babyhood, one hea...

  • Brenda C.

    My goodness. I REALLY couldn't take my eyes off of the book. There was so much humor and giddiness stuff going on and on...Aside from Emmy being one of my favorite characters, I'd love to choose Bayer...

  • Rae

    Very heteronormative romantic plot with a guy she didn't seem attracted to or even like as a friend.No conclusion on the Gabby thing.Pretty sick of every book with a character over size four constantl...